Answered

Need Help Connecting to RobotStudio From Unity

Sharpworks 2 years ago in realvirtual.io Starter and Professional updated by aitor943 5 months ago 10

I have the professional version of realvirtual.io but I am very new to this type of software. I am trying to connect my unity build to RobotStudio but I cannot figure out how to connect the I/O signals needed. I first followed this YouTube tutorial on defining robot kinematics, so I have my robot set up in Unity. 

Youtube video

Now that I finished this tutorial I started following the documentation on connecting to RobotStudio here https://realvirtual.io/documentation/current/abb.html#ABB-RobotStudio

The part I am stuck at is the final steps under "Interface Configuration in Unity" shown here.

Image 642

I have the SIMITConnection module set up in RobotStudio but I don't know what signals I need to replicate or how to name them based on my configuration. I also don't know if I need the actual program SIMIT or not. Can someone provide a more detailed explanation of the step-by-step process I need to do to complete this setup? Thank you!

Answer

Answer

I see that ABB is not finding the UnityConnection. It seems that something is wrong configured on the ABB side. Will check tomorrow on the computer in the Office where ABB RobotStudio is installed if I can find our example project and send it to you. My advice would be also to first just start with a very simple config (e.g. just the axis values) and extend this later on as soon as the connection is up and running.. 

Answered

I have seen that some picutre links are broken in our documentation. We will try to fix this.

It is important that there are no empty not defined memroy regions in the shared memory. If needed you could use empty signals which you are not using. For signals that should be matched there is a naming convention. Please also check here ABB help as well as the video below.

Thank you. Will this work without SIMIT?